7 stages of grief and loss a relationship

7 Stages Of Grieving A Breakup – Patrick Wanis

7 stages of grief and loss a relationship

Knowing The 7 Stages of Grief Will Help You Survive Loss, Break-up, In the case of relationship dissolution, denial comes when one partner. Much like the passing away of a loved one, breakups have stages of grief. It's hard not to feel the sting after a relationship ends, and it's even harder not of blurriness about the actual breakup scene, a literal loss of breath. The stages of grief and mourning are universal and are experienced by the loss of a close relationship, or to the death of a valued being, human, or animal.

Shock provides emotional protection from being overwhelmed all at once. This may last for weeks. Although excruciating and almost unbearable, it is important that you experience the pain fully, and not hide it, avoid it or escape from it with alcohol or drugs.

You may have guilty feelings or remorse over things you did or didn't do with your loved one. Life feels chaotic and scary during this phase.

Please try to control this, as permanent damage to your relationships may result. This is a time for the release of bottled up emotion.

7 stages of grief and loss a relationship

You may rail against fate, questioning "Why me? This is a normal stage of grief, so do not be "talked out of it" by well-meaning outsiders. Encouragement from others is not helpful to you during this stage of grieving. During this time, you finally realize the true magnitude of your loss, and it depresses you.

7 stages of grief and loss a relationship

You may isolate yourself on purpose, reflect on things you did with your lost one, and focus on memories of the past. You may sense feelings of emptiness or despair.

Throughout each stage, a common thread of hope emerges: As long as there is life, there is hope. As long as there is hope, there is life. Many people do not experience the stages of grief in the order listed below, which is perfectly okay and normal. The key to understanding the stages is not to feel like you must go through every one of them, in precise order. Please keep in mind that everyone grieves differently. Some people will wear their emotions on their sleeve and be outwardly emotional.

7 Stages Of Grieving The End Of A Relationship | HuffPost Life

Others will experience their grief more internally, and may not cry. You should try and not judge how a person experiences their grief, as each person will experience it differently. It is a normal reaction to rationalize our overwhelming emotions.

7 stages of grief and loss a relationship

Denial is a common defense mechanism that buffers the immediate shock of the loss, numbing us to our emotions. We block out the words and hide from the facts.

7 stages of grief and loss a relationship

We start to believe that life is meaningless, and nothing is of any value any longer. For most people experiencing grief, this stage is a temporary response that carries us through the first wave of pain.

Anger As the masking effects of denial and isolation begin to wear, reality and its pain re-emerge.

What You Should Know About the Stages of Grief

We are not ready. The intense emotion is deflected from our vulnerable core, redirected and expressed instead as anger. The anger may be aimed at inanimate objects, complete strangers, friends or family. Anger may be directed at our dying or deceased loved one.


Rationally, we know the person is not to be blamed. Emotionally, however, we may resent the person for causing us pain or for leaving us. A Pathway Through Pain https: Here I am revealing the 7 stages of grieving a breakup based on the above model by Greeson and my work with clients.

Again, please note, do not push yourself to attain each stage or rush through any of them.

7 stages of grief and loss a relationship

Our rational mind seeks to know why it happened, and sometimes this can be our attempt to reduce the pain by offering a logical reason or explanation 2. Because you are so desperate to save the relationship, you are willing to blame yourself for everything that went wrong and refuse to see the reality that there are two people in the relationship and both must make changes for it to work, if at all. Fear occurs when we lose trust in our own abilities and self-worth; panic and anxiety occur when we feel our world is out of control and we try to control the things we cannot control.

Breakups - 5 Stages of Grief

Sometimes I feel isolated or just want to isolate myself. Sadness is triggered by a sense of loss; guilt is triggered by the belief that we did something wrong and shame is the belief that we are wrong i.